OMGWTF friend

Dear Ryan,

I can’t believe that you’re gone.  I wake up and get on my 7th iPad (remember, you were the one who dubbed me the iPad drug dealer) to look for tweets from you, and it’s not there.  What’s your weight today?  Or your schedule?  Are you going to clean the truck? And are you going to be at Ross’ or Savers?  Will you see Ms. Unreliable?  How’s R doing?  What’s the latest picture you’ll harass me with that has orange in it?

I was a novice on Twitter.  My first real connection with you came when you talked about your criteria for a girlfriend.  “Must be Japanese, Buddhist, a teacher or a librarian, and had to drive a Toyota.”  WHAT?  That was too funny – I mean, how specific can you get?  And how come I fit all of the criteria, never even having met you in real life?  I laughed so hard getting that tweet, and said, “you must have meant me” and our friendship grew.  I was  with @twtrlessdoug, so I tried to fix you up with my friends.  Of course, that meant having to meet you IRL first – what if you were some weirdo?  I feel we bonded instantly – your infectious laughter, your intelligence, your lack of fashion sense, it made me want to hug you all the time.  I know you loved the hugs as much as I did 🙂

What I do when I first see you...

I’m sorry the fix-ups didn’t pan out, and we shared more information and I became your OMGWTF friend.  There wasn’t a nasty comment we could share between us that would hurt the other person, nor anything the other could do as a surprise.  This was your typical expression with me:

OMGWTF??

We both learned of our love for hiking and the idea of the #twikes were born.  We did a lot of twikes together – even Sara (@knyghtingale) came to one, and only one.  We had a deal – I picked the date and you picked the venue.  And we always looked forward to the food get-together after-twike.

Pali Puka Hike

Food was a big part of it – just one short week ago, we sat down and had such a fun lunch that I told YOU I was going to pay for.  Well, you grabbed the bill from my hand and we laughed so hard when I was trying to bite you….ha ha.  I won!

The Bite

And when we met that night at Kincaid’s over more food, there was only lots of love and laughter amongst us.  Good times, good friends, and more hugs.

I miss you.  I miss you and your nasty comments to me.   A big HUG to you.  And stop giving me that annoyed look….

With love,

@smurata

About smurata

Loves snow, cats and dogs, and double rainbows.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OMGWTF friend

  1. john says:

    thanks for sharing that.

  2. Clara says:

    This is so, so touching…you made me cry. When he found out I worked in a library, he was all happy. I still keep looking for his witty tweets calling me a bot, etc. *waves fist at @rsuenaga* Miss him too. :’o(

  3. Awww hugs to you Susan.

Leave a Reply

